The Curriculum: An Overview

Our curriculum is broad, balanced and ambitious. It is planned according to the National Curriculum KS1 and Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum guidelines. We provide a wide variety of learning opportunities which support and encourage children's spiritual, moral, social, cultural, mental and physical development. 

Our curriculum is challenging, progressive and exciting. Curriculum subjects are taught as subjects in their own right but where links are clear, we may use a thematic approach.  

Children in the two Reception classes follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Profile with guidance from Development Matters. This Curriculum has seven areas of learning covering children’s physical, intellectual, emotional and social development:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Teachers planning also provides 'continuous provision' in which the children can achieve their developmental goals.

The Foundation Stage Curriculum has a smooth transition into the National Curriculum. As children transfer into key stage one (Years 1 and 2) their learning is planned from their year group objectives, called age related expectations (ARE).

On moving to Coalway Junior School, children move into key stage 2. 

The National Curriculum consists of three ‘Core Subjects’:

English, Mathematics, Science


The remaining subjects are known as ‘Foundation Subjects’:

Art and Design


Design and Technology




P.E.  (Physical Education)


R.E. (Religious Education) is also taught as a statutory requirement, in addition to P.S.H.E. (Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education), which remains an integral part of our curriculum.