Coalway Community Infant School Governor Information

Mr Kim Toombs is a Co-opted Governor and is Chairperson. He has been a Governor for 23 years having joined the Governing Board in November 1995. He has held the position of Chair of Governors for 9 years during this time and is Chairperson of the Finance and Personnel Committees and a member of the Head Teacher's Performance Management Committee. Mr Toombs is the Governor responsible for Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND). Mr Toombs' term of office is 4 years, 09.05.19 - 08.05.23.

Mrs Kathy Russell is a Local Authority Governor and is Vice-Chairperson of Governors. She serves on the Finance, Personnel and Premises/Health & Safety Committees. She joined the Governing Board in March 1998 and has been a Governor at Coalway for 20 years serving as Chair of Governors for 10 of these. She also has specific responsibility as Child Protection Governor and is Chairperson of the Head Teacher's Performance Management Committee. Mrs Russell's term of office is 4 years, 11.10.18 - 10.10.22. (Stand-down 17.05.19)

Mr Michael Chung is an elected Parent Governor, elected on 11.05.17. He is a member of the Premises/Health & Safety Committee. His term of office is 4 years, 11.05.17 - 10.05.21.

Mrs Clare Brown is an elected Staff Governor. She is a Teaching Assistant who currently works in our Year 1 classes. She serves on the Teaching and Learning and Standards Committee. Mrs Brown has been a member of the Governing Board since October 2010; her term of office is 4 years, 09.05.19 - 08.05.23.

Mrs Claire Bushell is a Co-opted Governor elected by the Governing Board. She is a member of the Teaching and Learning and Standards Committee. She has been a Governor at Coalway since November 2004. Her term of office is 4 years, 09.05.19 - 08.05.23.

Mrs Kaye Turner is a Co-opted Governor elected by the Governing Board and is Vice-Chairperson of Governors. Her term of office is 4 years, 11.10.18 - 10.10.22. Mrs. Turner was previously a Parent Governor who served a 4-year term of office which ended on 06.02.18 and served as an Associate Member 07.02.18 -10.10.18. She serves on the Finance and Personnel Committees and is Chairperson of the Premises/Health & Safety Committee.

Our Head Teacher, Mrs Fiona Hamilton, is an ex-officio Governor who is a member of the Finance and Personnel Committee and the Premises/Health and Safety Committee. Mrs. Hamilton also meets regularly with all Governors who hold a specific individual responsibility on behalf of the Governing Board. Her knowledge and expertise informs the Governing Board and ensures that the governance it provides is effective in creating the very best opportunities and education for the children.

Mrs Sophie Burke has been an Associate Member since May 2019. Associate Members have no voting rights within full Governing Board meetings but do have this within the Committees on which they serve. Mrs Burke is Deputy Head Teacher at Coalway Community Infant School, currently teaching our Year 1 pupils. She is Chairperson of the Teaching and Learning and Standards Committee whose term of office is 4 years, 09.05.19 - 08.05.23.

Mrs Sue Jordan is the Clerk to the Governing Board. She has vast experience in this role, having held this position since January 1992. She is also Clerk to the Finance Committee. Anyone who wishes to contact a member of the Governing Board should do so via Mrs Jordan, either through the School Office or by email: admin@coalway-inf.gloucs.sch.uk or telephone: 01594 833457.