Governor Information

Mr Kim Toombs is a Co-opted Governor and is Chairperson. He has been a Governor for 22 years, having held the position of Chair of Governors for 7 years during this time. He is Chairperson of the Finance and Personnel Committee and a member of the Head Teacher's Performance Management Committees. Mr Toombs is the Governor responsible for Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND). Mr Toombs' term of office is 4 years, 14.05.15 - 13.05.19.

Mrs Kathy Russell is a Local Authority Governor and is Vice-Chairperson of Governors. She serves on the Finance & Personnel and Premises/Health & Safety Committees. She has been a Governor at Coalway for 20 years and Chair of Governors for 10 of these. She also has specific responsibility as Child Protection Governor and is Chairperson of the Head Teacher's Performance Management Committee. Mrs Russell's term of office is 4 years, 01.09.14 - 31.08.18

Mrs Kaye Turner is an elected Parent Governor, having held this position for almost 2 years. She is Chairperson of the Premises/Health & Safety Committee. Her term of office is 4 years, 07.02.14 - 06.02.18.

Mr Michael Chung is a newly elected Parent Governor, elected on 11.05.17. He is a member of the Premises/Health & Safety Committee. His term of office is 4 years, 11.05.17 - 10.05.21.

Mrs Clare Brown is an elected Staff Governor. She is a Teaching Assistant who currently works in one of our Reception classes. She serves on the Teaching and Learning and Standards Committee. Mrs Brown has been a member of the Governing Body for 5 years; her term of office is 4 years, 14.05.15 - 13.05.19.

Mrs Claire Bushell is a co-opted Governor. She is a member of the Teaching and Learning and Standards Committee. She has been a Governor at Coalway for 7 years. Her term of office is 4 years, 14.05.15 - 13.05.19.

Mrs Belinda Price is a co-opted Governor, who has been a member of our Governing Body for 4 years. She serves on the Teaching and Learning and Standards Committee. Her term of office is 4 years, 14.05.15 - 13.05.19.

Mrs Bethan Adams is an Associate Member. Associate Members have no voting rights within full Governing Body meetings but do have this within the Committees on which they serve. Mrs Adams is Deputy Head Teacher at Coalway Community Infant School, currently teaching our Year 1 pupils. She is Chairperson of the Teaching and Learning and Standards Committee whose term of office is 4 years, 13.10.16 - 12.10.20.

Our Head Teacher, Mrs Fiona Hamilton, is an ex-officio Governor who is a member of the Finance and Personnel Committee and the Premises/Health and Safety Committee. She also meets regularly with all Governors who hold a specific individual responsibility on behalf of the Governing Body. Her knowledge and expertise informs the Governing Body and ensures that the governance it provides is effective in creating the very best opportunities and education for the children.

Mrs Sue Jordan is the Clerk to the Governing Body. She has vast experience in this role, having held this position for 25 years. She is also Clerk to the Finance Committee. Anyone who wishes to contact a member of the Governing Body should do so via Mrs Jordan, either through the School Office or by email: admin@coalway-inf.gloucs.sch.uk or telephone: 01594 833457.